top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Pearl

"Coral," by Sara Ella

Genre: Contemporary/Slight Fantasy/Romance

Page Count: 350+

Published: 2019 (Thomas Nelson)

Potential Triggers: Suicide, Self-harm, Mermaids/Mermen,

Mental Health Topics: Suicide, Self-harm, Anxiety, Depression,


If I had to summarize this book in one word... I couldn't. It's too incredible, too magical, too openhearted, too raw, too... everything. This book was absolutely incredible.


Coral, by Sara Ella, is a fictional book about a girl named Coral, with side POVs (points of view) from another girl by the name of Brooke and a boy by the name of Merrick. It's a journey through depression, anxiety, and loss. The three of them all have to find themselves despite the intense turmoil around them and the author created the whole workings of the story beautifully.


When I first opened up the book, it was a bit hard to get into. I can't say this was due to the story itself being boring, but instead it got into the hard topics so fast and I wasn't mentally prepared for it.


This book took me over nine months to read when I usually finish books in a matter of days.


If that doesn't say something as to how hard this book might be to get through, I don't know what will. The truth is, anyone who struggles with suicidal ideation, with depression, who has dealt with loss in any way—particularly if you've dealt with loss by suicide—I'm going to warn you, this book is going to hit you hard. You may be like me, who thought that they could handle it. It wasn't real, they were past that. The truth is, we're usually not 'past' everything we think we are.


I know I sure wasn't.


My favorite part of this book was the insane plot twist near the end. That was just so masterful and while I won't say much because of spoilers, from a writer's point of view, that absolutely blew. my. mind. Like WOWWWWWW. It was so good!!! Another thing I loved was the sheer vibrancy of the feelings, the raw pain that managed to be so beautiful, and just how everything was so authentic.


Overall, even though this book took me so long to read, it was so worth it. Every last bit of pain, every last bit of struggle, every last moment of my time that I had to set aside and just push myself through it. It was worth it to me. This was such a good book.


I will say, though, that if you're going through a hard time, maybe don't read this book. This one's going to pull you under, and if you aren't ready to deal with that, don't read it. It's not a matter of strength, it's a matter of what you've had to go through. And if you've gone through a lot, no matter how strong you are, it's going to hit you hard. Even those who haven't gone through this may cry or have to set this aside. It's a heavy book, and if you can't read something like this, that's okay! Just because this was a stellar book doesn't make it ideal for everyone. <3


Take care of yourself, warriors. God bless. <3

Recent Posts

See All

"My Body is Not a Prayer Request," by Amy Kenny

Genre: Christian Nonfiction Page Count: 175+ pages Published: 2022 Potential Triggers: medical trauma, ableism Mental Health Topics: disability When I opened this book, I was hopeful. The subtitle for

"Speak" by Laurie Halse Anderson

Genre: Contemporary Fiction Page Count: 200+ pages Published: 2019 Potential Triggers: attempts at self-harm, mentions of suicide/suicide ideation, rape, bullying Mental Health Topics: depression, PTS

"All the Bright Places," by Jennifer Niven

Genre: Fiction Page Count: 350+ Published: 2015 (Ember) Potential Triggers: Suicide/Suicidal Ideation, Suicide Attempts, Drugs, Alcohol, Sex (not graphic), Undressing in Public, Streaking, Cursing, Me

bottom of page