top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Pearl

"Fangirl," by Rainbow Rowell

Genre: Contemporary

Page Count: 425+

Published: 2013 (St. Martin's Griffin)

Potential Triggers: alcohol, drugs, talk of sex, mention of declothing, lots of kissing,

Mental Health Topics: Anxiety, Bipolar Disorder, Addiction (minor mention),


This is one of those books that you read and it sticks with you for a long, long time. How do I know that? Because that's what it did with me. I read this book when I was roughly 13 and I absolutely adored it. Let me tell you why.


Fangirl is a book about a girl named Cather, nicknamed Cath, and her journey through her first year of college. Through anxiety, lots of schoolwork, avoiding people, learning how to live away from home, battling through worry about her father, writing her fanfiction "Carry On, Simon," and fighting with her sister, Wren, Cath learns the true hardship of living life to its fullest—and most importantly, why it's so worth it.


This book is absolutely stunning to me, not only because of how well-written it is, but also because of how well-thought-out it is. Cath and those around her just come to life on the page and it sucks you in, right at the beginning. You have no choice but to keep on reading.


One of my favorite parts about this book is how you actually get to read some of Cath's writing. Though I won't tell you why because of spoilers, I will say that it makes its way into the story in a wonderful way and it just fits so well. I adored every part of those and it's something that I can't ever seem to forget.


Begin Spoilers


While nothing in this book is outright diagnosed, her father is hospitalized a few times (bipolar reasons), Cath struggles with anxiety, and Wren struggles with alcohol addiction. Throughout the course of the book, some of the matters get addressed, while some simply are worked around. Either way, coping methods are learned and one can wholeheartedly be brought along for the ride, even if they're in the midst of their own struggle with any of these problems.


End Spoilers


But that's all I'll tell you about this one. The rest of the ramble will be forever chained in a secluded wing of my brain, only to be unburied if someone asks me about this book. I adore this book and it's one that I've thought about a lot over the years because it had so much of an impact on me as a young teen. I hope it has just as much of an impact on any of you who go on to read it.


Overall, I hope you enjoyed this post and that it was of some help to you! God bless and happy reading!


Recent Posts

See All

"My Body is Not a Prayer Request," by Amy Kenny

Genre: Christian Nonfiction Page Count: 175+ pages Published: 2022 Potential Triggers: medical trauma, ableism Mental Health Topics: disability When I opened this book, I was hopeful. The subtitle for

"Speak" by Laurie Halse Anderson

Genre: Contemporary Fiction Page Count: 200+ pages Published: 2019 Potential Triggers: attempts at self-harm, mentions of suicide/suicide ideation, rape, bullying Mental Health Topics: depression, PTS

"All the Bright Places," by Jennifer Niven

Genre: Fiction Page Count: 350+ Published: 2015 (Ember) Potential Triggers: Suicide/Suicidal Ideation, Suicide Attempts, Drugs, Alcohol, Sex (not graphic), Undressing in Public, Streaking, Cursing, Me

bottom of page