top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Pearl

"Not Hungry," by Kate Karyus Quinn

Genre: Fiction/Poetry

Page Count: Unknown (I read this as an ebook)

Published: 2020 (West 44 Books)

Potential Triggers: Purging, Verbal Abuse/Bullying, Body Shaming,

Mental Health Topics: Eating Disorder(s),


To start us off, this one was a reread, so I can't give you my "first impressions" but I can tell you that this book was just as good the second time through as it was the first. One warning before we get into it, though. This story is fairly graphic in the depictions of the MC's eating disorder, it gets into her thoughts and longing for food and then her purging. And the happenings of this book literally revolve around that, so if you can't handle that, please do not read this book.


That said, though, if you can handle all of that, then this book would be a good book to see what happens inside of a person's head. I'm not saying that all those who struggle with eating disorders are similar, but from my own experience with eating disorders, it's fairly similar to the struggles many people go through. The push-and-pull within the character to eat or not to eat was spot-on and unfortunately, the bullying that June (the MC) endured because of her body was also quite believable. It was body-shaming to the extreme and honestly, it made me look down at myself and cringe a little bit.


While I enjoyed this book—I'd probably give it a 3.5- or a 4-star rating—I want to put out a warning rather than a review of this book: this book is immensely graphic and it's going to make you feel some things unless you're shut-down or dissociated or whatever else.


Overall, while I'd recommend this book for anyone who wants an inside look into what it's like to have an eating disorder, I'd also send a warning to anyone who's more susceptible to feeling ashamed about their bodies. Y'all, you are beautiful no matter what shape you are, no matter what you weigh, and this book will not change that, but it may change your views on it if you only read the beginning.


Just be careful, Warriors. Love y'all. <3

Recent Posts

See All

"My Body is Not a Prayer Request," by Amy Kenny

Genre: Christian Nonfiction Page Count: 175+ pages Published: 2022 Potential Triggers: medical trauma, ableism Mental Health Topics: disability When I opened this book, I was hopeful. The subtitle for

"Speak" by Laurie Halse Anderson

Genre: Contemporary Fiction Page Count: 200+ pages Published: 2019 Potential Triggers: attempts at self-harm, mentions of suicide/suicide ideation, rape, bullying Mental Health Topics: depression, PTS

"All the Bright Places," by Jennifer Niven

Genre: Fiction Page Count: 350+ Published: 2015 (Ember) Potential Triggers: Suicide/Suicidal Ideation, Suicide Attempts, Drugs, Alcohol, Sex (not graphic), Undressing in Public, Streaking, Cursing, Me

bottom of page