top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Pearl

Song #21 - "Little Girl," Faith Marie

They want to talk to me. Me!

The exhilaration of being chosen over someone else was one that I didn’t know how to handle. It wanted to explode out of me in a series of happy squeaks and wiggles but I knew from experience that my ways of expressing happiness wasn’t “socially acceptable.” If I let myself be me, they’d run off again.

They smiled at me and my mind spun, words disappearing as I just felt all my lost hopes returning.

“Hi.” My shy and quiet reply was simple, nervous and shaky. Conversation skills weren’t exactly something I was known for.

“Hey, want to join us over there?” The girl who spoke gestured across the room to a rather large group and I felt the hope from a moment before fall into my stomach like a stone.

So many people…

My whole body stiffened, but I forced myself to smile. Don’t lose them. This is your only chance. They see you. Very few people often saw me.

“Sure.”

Dazedly, I followed them into the group, but the noises surrounded me like a heavy, staticky blanket, overwhelming and overloading me almost instantaneously. I felt myself starting to shut down, disconnecting as the rest of my body went on autonomously, faking it as I’d learned how to do.

I didn’t speak and nobody spoke to me. And I’d learned long ago that the best way to navigate social situations was to not speak unless I was spoken to. But maybe someday, maybe someday, I’d find my place.

Just keep trying. You’ll get there someday. Someday, you will find a place for you.

***

Little Girl, Faith Marie


Estimated Time of Memory: recurring

Genre: Pop

Potential Triggers: None

Favorite Lyric: "I don't have to think this body of mine is a prison. You don't control me! I just gotta find the light switch..."

Recent Posts

See All

Song #27 - "Stranded," Plumb

"You know it only breaks my heart to see you standing in the dark alone, waiting there for me to come back..." My whisper-soft voice cracked and I found myself shivering under the paper-thin blankets

"Feral Rat Anthem" by Hospital Bracelet

Everything had gone quiet despite the volume of the people around her. Nothing mattered more at that moment than the message on her screen. She knew that number. Where was it from again? She strained

Song #26 - "I'd Be Lying," The Material

Sometimes, I see it in my memory. I see the footsteps I took, walking away from all that I held dear, all that held me safe, in the name of self-destruction. I'd be lying if I said I didn't regret it.

bottom of page