top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Pearl

Song #24 - "Keep Your Head Up Princess," Anson Seabra

There were only so many times that you could make paper crowns before they grew old, and once you're around ten, sitting there with your brown construction paper (because that was all there was left by the time it was your turn) and you realize that no marker draws well on dark brown paper, you just sit there, pondering.

Ponderings are a strange thing, however. Spiraling, swirling, destined to be dark in the deepest corners of your mind. And when the light from your eyes fades a little bit as you look at your brown crown, the darkness creeps further in.

Ugly blobs. That's what the "jewels" on your crown were. Ugly blobs of nothingness. You shouldn't have drawn anything at all.

But as you grow older, you can look back at the memories of those ugly crowns, all cast aside, and think a few words softly: "Keep your head up, Princess, before your crown falls. Know these voices in your head will be your downfall. I know it gets so hard but you don't got far to go."

So cast aside these crowns, shredded trees tossed, and remember one day, you'll be a queen. "I know it hurts right now, but one day you'll make it home." So keep your head up.

***

Keep Your Head Up Princess, Anson Seabra


Genre: Soft Pop

Potential Triggers: mentions drinking and bars

Favorite Lyric: "Yeah, keep your head up, princess, it's a long road. And the path leads right to where they won't go. I know it hurts right now but I know you'll make it home..."

Recent Posts

See All

Song #27 - "Stranded," Plumb

"You know it only breaks my heart to see you standing in the dark alone, waiting there for me to come back..." My whisper-soft voice cracked and I found myself shivering under the paper-thin blankets

"Feral Rat Anthem" by Hospital Bracelet

Everything had gone quiet despite the volume of the people around her. Nothing mattered more at that moment than the message on her screen. She knew that number. Where was it from again? She strained

Song #26 - "I'd Be Lying," The Material

Sometimes, I see it in my memory. I see the footsteps I took, walking away from all that I held dear, all that held me safe, in the name of self-destruction. I'd be lying if I said I didn't regret it.

bottom of page