top of page
  • Writer's pictureEvvan Hodgeman

how did i get here

It's hard to believe the things that I've faced,

The monsters that I've chased

The energy that went to waste 

The times my heart was being held together by a paste

When I could barely hold on


It's hard to believe I made it

I fought and I fought,

Just to get here

How did I get here?


It's shocking seeing me now compared to what I was before

It's something that I don't think I will ever understand

I understood when I had to stay strong 

I understood that life isn't easy

But, How did I get here?



I watched the light fade, and I watched the times change

I watched the world Grow,

And I watched the sunrise 

And I stared up at the blue skies

But how did I get here?


I made it through loneliness, heartache, and pain.

But, truly what did I gain?

From dancing in the rain

I broke the chain

But how did I get here?



I've learned, and I've lost

But I made it out okay

I didn't give up,

I kept on fighting,

I fought to save myself.

I've been so strong,

I've been so brave.


I've dealt with so much.

Stuff that no one should have to go through

I fought the overwhelming voices in my head,

The ones telling me to “give up.”

I fought it all like a warrior,

I had the wounds to prove it,

now the wounds and cuts are mostly faded,

But the scars remain

They remain as a reminder,

Of just how far I've come,

A reminder of how strong I've had to be










Recent Posts

See All

you will be okay

Broken,alone,,confused Fear fills my mind Loneliness fills my heart Voices surround me “It will get better” A phrase I hear every day That's what they all say But will I be okay? I want to scream, I w

Mood Swings

It's funny how my mood goes Up, down, up, down I wish I could tell it to just Calm down, calm down I'm tired of being so Up, up, up! And then crashing so low So down, down, down I'm sorry I can't cont

Regrets in Change

I smile because honestly, I don't know what else to do I want to be the happy, free, careless person I used to be I want my younger self I want back the person whose anxiety didn't hold them hostage I

bottom of page