top of page
  • Writer's pictureEvvan Hodgeman

Regrets in Change

I smile because honestly, I don't know what else to do

I want to be the happy, free, careless person I used to be

I want my younger self

I want back the person whose anxiety didn't hold them hostage

I want back the person who wasn't afraid to stand up for themself

But I can't get them back

I can't change the past

No one can

I can't protect the little kid that was used

The kid that was left scared and hating their body

They were so young

No one can take away the trauma that they went through

But what I can do is try and recover

But I can't do it alone.

I need help

I need help

To try and regain my confidence

Try to stop feeling ashamed

I can’t stop thinking it's my fault

I can't stop thinking that I did something wrong

Did I do something to deserve all this?

What happened that changed everything?

Why didn't I protect myself more?

Why didn't I fight back?

Because I couldn't.

Why didn't I run when the devil was chasing me?

Why was I the one being chased?

Why did I have to face the consequences?

For his actions

He broke my trust

And who knows if he will ever get it back

Will glue fix the trust that he broke?

It won’t

But the people who love me will help me heal

He hurt me

But why?

What did I do?

I know now

That it wasn’t my fault

It wasn’t my fault

Sometimes I need to remind myself that:

It wasn’t my fault.

But why did everyone have to go changing on me?

Weren't things okay the way they were before?

Was it me who changed?

I changed because I had to.

I changed because I was scared.

I changed because that was the only way I could cope

How else was I supposed to protect myself?

Protect myself from the person that was supposed to protect me.

He betrayed me.

He betrayed me.

I pretend it doesn't hurt.

I pretend it doesn't break me.

But it does

And I hate it

It keeps me up at night.

It haunts my dreams

Does he know what he did?

Does he know what he put me through?

The thoughts leave me tossing and turning.

Unable to feel a sense of calm

Unable to stop

Wondering why.

Why?

Why?

Why?

Why?

Why?

No one really knows why

I don't think he even knows why.

And even if he did

I wouldn’t have the words to ask him

I wouldn’t have the strength

Or the courage

to try and understand.

I mean;

Do I really want to?

If I knew, would it stop eating me up inside?

Would the pain linger?

Or would it fade?

Would I stop feeling so afraid?

Would the memories stop swirling through my head?

The vision of me trying to fight back

Even though I knew how weak I was.

Even though I knew I couldn't protect myself

The vision of me trying to scream

But no sound is coming out

Swirling in my head

Fear and shock consuming me

So bad

That I couldn't even scream

I couldn’t even scream one word

One word

Four letters

Yet so much power

S t o p

If I was able to force that word out of my mouth

Would he have actually listened?

Would it be different?

I'm not sure how I feel,

About how ill never know

How do I feel?

How do I feel?

How do I feel?

Now that the past,

Is in the past.

How do I feel?

Knowing

That the future,

Remains a mystery.

Knowing that it remains unknown

I would be on edge if I knew

So maybe it's best that I don’t

Maybe it's best if I just focus on the now.

 

Author's Note:


I wrote this poem several years after I went through something really emotional and traumatizing that no one, especially not a child, should have had to go through. I hope this inspires you and helps you feel like you're not alone.

Recent Posts

See All

you will be okay

Broken,alone,,confused Fear fills my mind Loneliness fills my heart Voices surround me “It will get better” A phrase I hear every day That's what they all say But will I be okay? I want to scream, I w

how did i get here

It's hard to believe the things that I've faced, The monsters that I've chased The energy that went to waste The times my heart was being held together by a paste When I could barely hold on It's hard

Mood Swings

It's funny how my mood goes Up, down, up, down I wish I could tell it to just Calm down, calm down I'm tired of being so Up, up, up! And then crashing so low So down, down, down I'm sorry I can't cont

bottom of page